School Board

About the Board of Education
 Sherri Reusche
District Area 1
Elected 2004
Term Expires: 2020
Cory Williams
District Area 2
Selected: October 17, 2017
Term Expires: 2018

Dennis Dunnigan
District Area 3
Board Clerk
Elected 2016
Term Expires: 2020

Zerrall McDaniel
District Area 4
Board President
Elected: 1999
Term Expires: 2018 

 Karan Bowsher
District Area 5
Elected: 2010
Term Expires: 2018 

  • What is a Board of Education?

The Board of Education is the official policy-making body of the school district. It consists of five community residents elected by voters to serve four-year terms.  To qualify for the Board of Education a person must be able to read and write, must be a qualified voter of the district, must be a citizen of the United States, and must be eighteen (18) years of age or older.  Elections are held in November dependent upon the pending expiration of any members term.

Policies set by the Board are carried out by the Superintendent of Schools. The superintendent is a professional educator hired by the Board of Education. The Superintendent acts as an advisor, informing the Board of the needs, programs, and progress of the school district. The Superintendent is the Chief Executive Officer of the district responsible for the execution of all School Board decisions regarding the operation of the district.

  • What does a Board do?

The primary function of the Board is to ensure students receive a quality educational program consistent with the views of the community and the standards set by the California Department of Education.

A specific public comment period, as well as opportunities to address items on the agenda, are included in each regular meeting.

Documents below are Published in PDF with Adobe Reader Format
Adobe Reader DC download link 
Other versions of Adobe Link

Board Policy

This area contains every Board Bylaw, Board Policy, Administrative
Regulation and supporting exhibits currently approved for use by the 
Calaveras Unified School District.
Administrative Regulations and Supporting Exhibits