Departments‎ > ‎

Special Education

Training Calendar

Staff Training Calendar



What is Special Education?
Special Education is specialized instruction provided for children from birth to 22 years who qualify according to the laws and regulations designated by the state and federal government.  A student may qualify for special education services as an individual with special needs in one of the thirteen areas identified by the Individuals with Disabilities Education ACT (IDEA).

These are:

  • Autism
  • Deaf
  • Deaf-Blind
  • Emotionally Disturbed
  • Hard of Hearing
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Handicapped
  • Orthopedically Impaired
  • Other Health Impaired
  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Speech-Language Impaired
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visually Impaired


Special Education Web Links
Special Education records may be requested from the 
Calaveras County Office of Education.  

Lesley Heckers
Information Analyst
lheckers@ccoe.k12.ca.us


Special Education Staff

Belinda Brager-Nurse  bbrager@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Tanya Kiernan-Counselor  tkiernan@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Christine James-Counselor  cjames@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Calaveras High Counselors

Elizabeth Stilgebouer 
estilgebouer@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Eugene Alliende 
ealliende@calaveras.k12.ca.us

Special Ed

Teachers
Calaveras High

Jenny Nijirich   jnijirich@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Caryn Garner  cgarner@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Annette Lamica  alamica@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Nicole Lamica  nlamica@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Mark Outland  moutland@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Sheila Quinn  squinn@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Lisa Marie Anderson 
landerson@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Jenny Lind Elementary
Mark Caruso  mcaruso@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Meaghan Riley  mriley@calaveras.k12.ca.us
MHE/RRF/WPE Schools

Mary Schoenthaler  mschoenthaler@calaveras.k12.ca.us
San Andreas Elementary
Susan Broderick  sbroderick@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Trish Ow-McCormick  powmccormick@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Terri Pendley  tpendley@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Danielle Pellini 
dpellini@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Toyon Middle School
Anna Gates  agates@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Sean Smiley  
ssmiley@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Tracey Eisenhauer  teisenhauer@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Eleni Vergara  evergara@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Valley Springs Elementary
Kelly Howard 
khoward@calaveras.k12.ca.us
Kris Cullinan 
Kristina Pourner 
kcullinan@calaveras.k12.ca.us
kpourner@calaveras.k12.ca.us